Red Deer County Local Info

About Red Deer County, Alberta

Red Deer County is located in the heart of Central Alberta, mid-way between Calgary and Edmonton along Highway 2. The Red Deer River marks the north and east boundary of the County, and the city of Red Deer – the largest urban city within the county – can be found at the north-central edge of the district. Red Deer County covers an area of almost 4,000 kilometres square and has a population of around 19,500 people living in over 7,097 homes.

18 municipalities are located within Red Deer County, including the city of Red Deer; the towns of Bowden, Innisfail, Penhold, and Sylvan Lake; the villages of Delburne and Elnora; the summer villages of Half Moon Bay, Jarvis Bay, and Norglenwold; and the hamlets of Ardley, Benalto, Dickson, Linn Valley, Lousana, Markerville, Springbrook, and Spruce View. The county also includes the unincorporated communities of Balmoral, Canyon Heights, Central Park, Evarts, Herder, Kountry Meadow Estates, Poplar Ridge, Raven, Spruce Lane Acres, and Woodland Hills.

The quiet, rural lifestyle of Red Deer County draws people from across the Province, and the region continues to grow and prosper. Agriculture is a way of life for many people living here, and much of our region is active farm and grazing land. In addition to a rich agriculture industry, Red Deer County also has a bustling manufacturing sector and strong petrochemical and oil industries.

Learn More About Red Deer County

Red Deer County Information

Get more information about Red Deer County and what it’s like to live, work and play here. Learn more about our local government, the services and local businesses, our school districts, and the communities within the county.